The Roller coaster we call Life

My, my, where do I begin?? It’s been awhile since I have sat down to write about the adventures I have had. I think the last post here was May of 2019 when I participated in the reenactment ceremony of the Golden Spike at Promontory Point. So many things have happened since then. From little trips to Las Vegas to chasing the Union Pacific Big Boy, 4014 and of course the daily grind of working at the Museum, Ha ha.

Owyhee County Museum

I have been busy running the Owyhee County Museum. Lots of upgrades and improvements to the buildings and new displays. Its hard to believe that I have been the Director here for now two years. Since working here my explorations have slowed down and if I have gone on trips I seem to want to enjoy the moment and not worry about writing out a blog each night. I guess the writing itch has come back since here I am writing out a quick over view as to what has happened recently.

I stated above that I had chased the Big Boy steam locomotive on its Southwest Run. That adventure was with my father and a spur of the moment trip, it turned out great. We met up with the Union Pacific Steam Crew in Provo, Utah and then proceeded to chase the locomotive all the way to Caliente, Nevada. While in Caliente I helped the crew with cleaning the locomotive and any other odd help. I was able to climb into the cab of the engine and found myself catching a ride all the way to Las Vegas. I never thought I would take a train to Vegas and to top it off being pulled by the largest steamer in the world!

Chasing the 4014 to Nevada

That was the last big ho-ra! for the year of 2019. Winter came and went here in Idaho and spring ushered in not only warmer weather and flowers but also the Corona Virus. Museum things came to a halt and events got canceled. Over all the museum has fared pretty good through it and we are slowly coming back with events now this upcoming holiday season. As you can imagine not much traveling has occurred during this summer. Christina and I went on small over night trips here and there, but kept local.

Over the 4th of July we participated in a BBQ and overnight camp out with the new car club im apart of. The Idaho Bootleggers is a great club of classic rides and Christina and I camped out in the 1937 School Bus at the BBQ. We had great fun.

July came and went and by August I found myself along with dad building a trailer to haul my rail rider on. I wanted to have a small trailer to be able to pull behind my Subaru Outback and not have to take the big truck on vacations just to bring the rail rider. We had some set backs with getting the axle ordered in ect, but managed to get it all finished within days of leaving for the big two-week vacation to Nevada and Colorado.

The big Colorado vacation took place during the first two weeks of September. I had plenty of vacation days built up since not going anywhere this summer. It was a special trip since me and Christina visited places we have never been before and spent time catching up with friends in Ely, Nv. and in Colorado. Our first two and half days on the trip was spent in Ely riding the rails of the Nevada Northern Railroad. The brand new trailer pulled well and for the most part the trip was starting out great. We spent most of our time in Leadville, Co and rode the Tennessee Pass line with my rider. I have friends up there and we were all able to go together. It was a great day out on the rails. Our trip was beautiful with great weather and clear skies. We experienced 90 degree heat in Ely Nv. Then to 75 in Colorado and then down to 26 degrees and snow as we drove to Denver.

While we were in Leadville I proposed to Christina and she said…… yes! So, look at the happy couple now! We are engaged! She didn’t know anything was going to happen and it was a complete surprise. We spent the remaining part of our trip along the front range of the Rockies between Cheyenne and Denver.

The two weeks flew by and we had a great time. I wanted to write about our trip day by day or so but I really didn’t want to lug around my laptop or be tied down every other day writing out the trip. I thought I could always write about it later, if I had the time…..

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started